Categories
Audio Sources - Full Text Articles

Where to watch the London Marathon live stream for free from anywhere in the world


london marathonRunners pass Big Ben during the Virgin Money London Marathon on April 24, 2016 in London, England.

Joel Ford/Getty Images

When you buy through our links, Insider may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.

Wherever you are in the world, we can show you where to watch the London Marathon live stream for free. So while you could pay a considerable subscription fee to a local sports streaming service in your own country, we can show you how to use a VPN to tune into several free options available around the world. Trying to view these free options highlighted below from outside the selected countries will see you hit a geo-block – a VPN will let you get around that though.

There are hours of action to look forwards to with the running order beginning with the Elite wheelchair athletes, followed by Elite women, then Elite men, along with the rest of the amateur running enthusiasts – and charity crusaders dressed as dinosaurs and national monuments no doubt. If all the action whets your appetite to get back out there, be sure to take a look at our guides for the best cheap running shoes.

London Marathon live stream quick links:

Where to watch the London Marathon (US) 

US viewers getting up early to watch the London Marathon online are looking at one of the most expensive routes to tune in via the local option. FloTrack has full coverage of the race and is a solid resource for road and track running fans. Prices aren’t cheap though with monthly plans costing $29.99 a month, or you can save 58% by paying an annual deal of $149.99 – which save you $210 overall. Or use a VPN and tune into the 100% free coverage from the BBC in the UK. More details below.

Where to watch the London Marathon (UK)

Super simple for UK running fans again this year as the BBC will be carrying coverage throughout, starting at 8:30 a.m. BST on BBC 1 before switching over to BBC 2 from 2:15 p.m., you can tune in on TV via your usual aerial connection, or enjoy the action for free via the BBC i-Player. If you’re outside of the UK today, you’ll need a VPN to tune into this option. 

Watch the London Marathon for free from anywhere

A VPN lets your device appear to be in a different country and also offers excellent privacy options at home or on public Wi-Fi for your phone, laptop, streaming devices, and more. It’s the best way to tune into the free London Marathon live stream showing in the UK wherever you are in the world. 

If you don’t already have one, our preferred option of all the best VPN providers is ExpressVPN, which comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee if you’re unsatisfied. Check out the latest deal details below.

How to watch the London Marathon with a VPN

  • Sign up for a VPN if you don’t have one.
  • Install it on the device you’re using to watch the race.
  • Turn it on and set it to any UK location.
  • Head to the BBC i-Player for free live coverage.
  • Coverage begins: 3:30 a.m. ET / 8:30 a.m. BST / 9:30 p.m. CET

Do any other countries have a free London Marathon live stream?

Yes indeed, although you won’t be able to access them from outside without a VPN. The official Olympics website will be showing the race free of charge in the following countries: New Zeland, China, Japan, and MENA (Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestinian Territories, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Tunisia, UAE, and Yemen). VPN servers are few and far between in most of those countries, but you should be able to find some for Japan and New Zealand. Going the UK/BBC route mentioned earlier is much more reliable. 

Full London Marathon schedule 

Here are the times for each race in the 2023 London Marathon on April 23. Times are subject to change, so we’d tune in a little earlier to be on the safe side. TV coverage begins before the first race and any changes will be communicated on the day.

  • Elite Wheelchair: 3:15 a.m. ET / 9:15 a.m BST / 10:15 a.m. CET
  • Elite Women: 3:25 a.m. ET / 9:25 a.m BST / 10:25 a.m. CET
  • Elite Men (and masses): 5 a.m. ET / 10 a.m BST / 11 a.m. CET

Note: The use of VPNs is illegal in certain countries and using VPNs to access region-locked streaming content might constitute a breach of the terms of use for certain services. Insider does not endorse or condone the illegal use of VPNs.

Read the original article on Business Insider